SSPI Northeast - Satellite Professions International

Welcome to the SSPI Mid-Atlantic Chapter (US)

Serves: Delaware, Maryland, Virginia, and West Virginia, and the District of Columbia

The SSPI Mid-Atlantic Chapter boasts an energetic and active chapter, with educational and networking events throughout the year. These events support our scholarship program and prize competition, which we hold in partnership with the George Washington University, George Mason University and the University of Maryland.

Visit to Maryland's National Electronics Museum, October 2017

More than forty SSPI members, family, and friends were among those receiving a personalized tour of the National Electronics  Museum in Linthicum, Maryland. It was an eye-opening walk through the history and impact of various electronics advancements over the years, featuring their latest exhibit: "Satellites: Transforming Our World." The tour also included a happy-hour reception. 

Check out the story and photos from the event here. 

SSPI Members and Family say goodbye to RFK Stadium at DC United night

On September 23rd, SSPI Mid-Atlantic hosted an industry night at RFK Stadium to catch DC United in one of their last games at the DC landmark. Guests got great views of the game from a private box at Mezzanine level, and some participated in the pre-game flag ceremony. A great time was had by all.

Click here for photos and the story.

SSPI-MA's 2017 Golf Event

The Annual Golf Tournament and Fundraiser was a rousing success on a beautiful day! 

Click here for details and photos. We hope you were able to join in the fun and look forward to seeing you at next year's event! 

Welcome Our New Executive Board Members!

We're thrilled to have so many new executive-level officers leading the SSPI Mid-Atlantic Board of Directors. Please welcome (L. to R.):

Our new Vice President Charity Weeden (Satellite Industry Association)
Secretary Alena Koci (Inmarsat)
Our returning Treasurer Eileen McGowan (Intelsat), who will continue these duties with Co-Treasurer Kelly Nicklin (XTAR, not pictured).
Our new President, Billie Sims (Hunter Communications)

We look forward to a fantastic program year and hope you can join us.

Our Leadership

President: Billie Sims, Hunter Communications
Vice President: Charity Weeden, Satellite Industry Association
Secretary:  Alena Koci, Inmarsat
Treasurers: Eileen McGowan, Intelsat; Kelly Nicklin, XTAR
Publicity/Communications Chair: Brendan Murray
Membership Chair: Fabien Armogathe, O3B Networks
Scholarship Chair: Christian Wooldridge, Satcom Direct
Programs Co-Chair: Tom Fahy, Capitol Meteorologics
Programs Co-Chair: Arnie Christianson, SES
Immediate Past President:  Pat Rayermann, Semper Fortis Solutions


  • Sallye Clark, Mintz Levin
  • Dara Panahy, Milbank
  • Will Gregory, Ultisat
  • Rashid Neighbors, SES GS
  • Ed Spitler, Artel
  • Diego Paldao, SpeedCast
  • Roya Shambayati, Intelsat
  • Mark Lekowski, JSAT
  • Chris Kinman, SES GS
  • Tim Deaver, SES GS

Upcoming Events

Upcoming Events


Article detailing the 2017 Engineering Student Competition, held at Iridium's NOC in Leesburg, Virginia.

Results of SSPI MA membership survey are now available.

Click here to find out!